Classic Film Femme

I am a Liar

It’s true. I lied. I have been adament about my hatred of musicals with almost anyone who will listen to my ravings. I have been known to tell a sweetly sashaying little blonde songstress who’s locker was near mine in college that she was “not gonna go on 18” if I heard her sing Sound of Music’s “I am 16 going on 17” one more FREAKIN’ time!!

But folks – I am ashamed to admit that I absolultely protested too much against this particular genre. I tell you now that I adored Chevalier in Gigi, Kaye in White Christmas, Andrews in Mary Poppins, and (can you believe?) Brando in Guys and Dolls.

Ok. Maybe you already suspected I made an exception to my earlier hatred of musicals for Marlon Brando. I mean that man can do no wrong even when he’s housing a racoon in his hotel room – but I digress… So bring on the musicals! I can finally take it!

This entry was published on January 26, 2012 at 7:38 pm. It’s filed under Actors, Film Genres, Films Based on Plays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “I am a Liar

  1. Ha ha! This made me laugh! And yes Brando in Guys and Dolls is great! I watched it over 15 years ago and it’s stuck with me.

  2. Who knew he could sing right?

Leave a Reply

